Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’d know that some utterly devastating news (perhaps THE MOST devastating news of all time) has taken the internet by storm. Brace yourself for this, reader discretion is advised.
An unknowing poor soul of a twitter user who goes by the username @coco_meera, reached out to Mondelez International’s official Oreo twitter page and asked whether or not the Oreo sandwich cookies were Halal. The user’s tweet was as follows:
@Oreo please is Oreo halal
— 🍫 (@coco_meera) May 11, 2019
Now, the response to this question (which may have been a prank, a blunder, or anything at all besides a genuine question) broke (*read: shattered*) many innocent hearts. The official OREO Cookie Twitter account (@Oreo) responded on the 11th of May, 2019, saying
Thanks for reaching out! OREO cookies are not halal.”
OUCH! That one hurt! The tweet has since gone missing from the official twitter page but that’s beside the point. Screenshots of it have been circulating and there’s no denying now that irrespective of whether you knew or were trying to remain oblivious, bad news for Muslim Oreo fans in the west, those beloved classic sandwich cookies are off limits now. And, here: is how the world is reacting to the revelation…
So, we’ve got a wide variety of reactions and responses from people. First, we present to you the very premiere stage of response to the news: the people who are deliberately keeping their eyes shut and avoiding the news. What they don’t know won’t hurt them, right?
— Sultan (@Reys_Sultan) May 14, 2019
— 🥝 (@KDonghyun_) May 14, 2019
OrEos Arae NoT HAlaL… stop testing me in Ramadan pic.twitter.com/4Kh9hpjaPQ
— Hek (@Hekthegreat) May 14, 2019
Next, we’ve got the folks who’ve come to understand the news, internalize it, and now they’re freaking out. They cannot part ways with their childhood favorite snack and they’re venting out on social media, going nuts, losing their minds.
— 𝘼𝙢𝙚𝙚𝙧𝙖 𝘼𝙯𝙖𝙡𝙚𝙖 🌺 (@LilAmeera666) May 14, 2019
— Tamer B.Юрий (@tamer_badawy72) May 14, 2019
— shivan. (@achshivan) May 14, 2019
The next set of people online are the logic heads, the intellectuals. They don’t believe everything they read online. They question everything, always. So, now, they’re questioning whether the user who tweeted out inquiring about the Oreos being Halal even knew what Halal meant because Oreos are supposedly a vegan / vegetarian snack, thereby making it free of any processed animal ingredients and thereby Halal.
But they’re vegan pic.twitter.com/ZSZ5ecdO6b
— amani ~ (@amanialtwam) May 14, 2019
— Azeem Mohammad (@azeemmohd) May 14, 2019
After our logical saviors, we’ve got our over-smart intellectuals who are going in overdrive to point out that even if the product doesn’t contain any haram element traces, it could still contain alcohol which would make it both vegan / vegetarian friendly but also Haram. Good going, fellas! You’re ruining it for all of us as if the initial trauma wasn’t bad enough.
But your website says that you are vegetarian friendly, so how could you not be halal???? Do Oreos have alcohol??????
— winnie (@winnie4prez) May 14, 2019
They thought they were over-smart? We’ve got even smarter over-smart people out there coming in strong with the counter argument that scholars believe alcohol is burned up and evaporated in the cooking process which means that the snack may still be considered halal and consumed despite having had traces of alcohol in its pre-bake ingredients such as the vanilla extract.
they’re saying that vanilla extract contains a small amount alcohol therefore making it haraam. it doesn’t have pork. many sheiks believe that vanilla extract burns the alcohol when cooked and many don’t. i think it’s a eat at your own risk kinda thing pic.twitter.com/mcXPJfe3uC
— terra wrist (@suadmuhumed) May 14, 2019
Lastly, we’ve got the person who doesn’t care and is too far addicted to Oreos to give them up now. This is the ultimate response to the news, not giving up your favorite snack. Denial didn’t work, internalizing freaked you out, reasoning didn’t clarify it either, so this is what you do now, you blatantly and shamelessly continue in you ways!
— Tawheed Adkins (@AdkinsTawheed) May 14, 2019
Irrespective of the debate online, the fact stands that Oreos in many parts of the world are packaged and explicitly state Halal on the packaging to certify that as well. If you’ve got the label on your packet, then you’re good to go. If not, then you should read on in this debate to figure out what to do with the rest of your existence.
And you know what, person-who-asked-the-terrible-question-that-started-all-this?
Good morning to everyone except the guy who is researching if Oreos are halal.
— Shaykh Azhar Nasser (@ShaykhAzhar) May 14, 2019